You will need to get your drivers license replaced if it has been stolen, damaged or lost. It is against the law for anyone to operate a vehicle without a driver’s license. The Louisiana Department of Motor Vehicles is the one who will process driver’s license requests. It is important to note that the documents needed to get a driver’s license are different for minors and adults.
Replacing Your Driver’s License
You can replace your driver’s license by visiting the DMV or by mail. You are also encouraged to report your lost or stolen driver’s license to the police department to prevent identity theft. You will need to have the appropriate documents and pay the necessary fees. If you are an adult driver, then you will have to show your insurance information and proof of identity. Minors have to apply with a parent or guardian. They will also have to present documents that prove that they are attending school.
Documents You Need If You are an Adult
You will need to provide both a primary and secondary document. Acceptable primary documents include a birth card, birth certificate, passport, Native American tribal document, permanent resident card and Certificate of Naturalization. Acceptable secondary documents include an employment ID, state ID, Medicare card, high school diploma, car registration and W-2 forms.
If you have a car, then you will need to provide your insurance information. You will have to pay a fee to get your license. If you want to get a four-year driver’s license, then you will have to pay $13. You will have to pay $17 if you want to get a six-year driver’s license.
You can use a money order or cashier’s check. You can also use a debit card or credit card, but extra fees will be charged for the transaction.
Documents You Need If You are a Minor
Minors will need to have a certified copy of their birth certificate. Proof of School Attendance or a Home Study Approval Letter will also be required. The parent or legal guardian will need to be present with their proof of identity. Additionally, they will need to pay the fees.
How to Replace Your License by Mail
You can mail in your application if you are a resident of Louisiana, but you are temporarily out of state. You will need to have a valid state address. You will also need to provide your temporary address.
You will need to provide your driver’s license number if you have it. You will also need to provide your date of birth, out-of-state address, date of completion, social security number, full name, in-state address and the signature of the applicant.
The amount of time that it takes to process the application can vary. However, most people are able to get their driver’s license 10 days after they send in their application. You will not be able to replace your driver’s license online. However, you will be able to get assistance online if you need more information. This will simplify the application process.