Reinstate Suspended License

In the state of Louisiana (LA), when a person’s driver’s license is suspended, they won’t be able to legally drive for a specified period of time. They will eventually be able to get back their driving privileges. It will require they complete the established process for reinstatement.

 

Reasons For Suspension

There is no point system in LA for driving violations, but there is a Problem Driver Pointer System. This is designed to carefully track driving violations and suspensions in LA and other states. A person can have their driver’s license suspended for excessive moving violations. Driving with a license currently suspended or having no driver’s license could cause a driver’s license to be suspended. Depending on the situation, it could also cause a person to be incarcerated for up to five years. A person could have their driver’s license suspended if they are driving and do not have their driver’s license with them. A person could also have their driver’s license suspended if they are caught driving without insurance. Any failure to provide proof valid auto insurance coverage can result in a license suspension. A driver’s license can also be suspended for engaging in reckless driving, a conviction for being at fault for a fatal accident, using a motor vehicle to commit a felony, abandoning a vehicle on a public highway and more.

 

Re-Examination

The LA OMV can order a driving re-examination of any person they believe may not be capable of driving safely. Should a re-examination reveal a person is physically or psychologically unfit to operate a vehicle; their driving privileges can be suspended or revoked.

 

LA Driving Record

The type of violation resulting in a person having their driver’s license suspended will determine the amount of time the suspension remains on their driving record. It is going to be based on the type of offense a person has committed. Significant convictions, like vehicle negligent injury conviction or DWI, can remain on a person’s driving record for up to ten years. Other types of driver’s license suspensions can remain on a person’s driving record for up to five years.

 

Suspension Hearings

There are certain driving violations and convictions that automatically result in a driver’s license being suspended. When this happens, these drivers can request an LA DMV administrative hearing to reinstate their suspended license. This request can be made at the LA DMV in person or by mail at Office of Motor Vehicles, P.O. Box 64886, Baton Rouge, LA 70896. A person will have 15 days to apply for an administrative hearing for a DUI suspension. All other suspensions will require a person to apply within 30 days. During the administrative hearing, a law judge or LA OMV Chief Administrator will preside over the proceedings and hear the case. They have the authority to decide if a person’s driver’s license should be suspended or reinstated.

 

Reinstatement Notice and Fee

Once a person has completed their driver’s license suspension period; they will receive a notice from the LA OMV (Louisiana Office of Motor Vehicles). This notice will state the amount of the restoration fee a person will be required to pay. The restoration fee can be paid over the phone using a major credit or debit card. A restoration fee can also be paid in person using a certified check, cash, cashier’s check or cash. The payment must be made at a designated Motor Vehicle Reinstatement office. A person can also pay by mail using a cashier’s check, personal check or money order made payable to Office of Motor Vehicles and sent to P.O. Box 64886, Baton Rouge, LA 70896.

 

Reinstatement Fees

This amount of these fees will be determined by the reason a person’s driver’s license was suspended. The first DWI suspension is $100, the second suspension is $200 and the third offense is $300. An SR22 cancellation suspension will cost $60. A suspension from refusing or failing a blood or breath test is $50. All other types of suspensions will be $60. When using a credit card for payment, there will be a $5 credit card fee.

It is common for people to make a mistake and have their Louisiana driver’s license suspended. It’s important they carefully follow all the requirements of the LA OMV to have driving privileges reinstated. When the process is correctly followed, it’s easy to reinstate suspended license.