You have just moved to Louisiana and are so excited to enjoy all that the state has to offer, but you know that you have a few things to accomplish before you can legally do everything that you want to do. Among this list of things is registering your vehicle, but you are not very sure how to transfer your registration between states. Registering an out of state vehicle in the state of Louisiana is a relatively simple process once you have the proper documents. Your vehicle will need to be registered with the Office of Motor Vehicles in order to legally be able to drive it on the streets, so registration is one of the first few things that you should take once you begin moving.
Proof of Insurance
One of the first things that you will want to make sure that you do, before you register your vehicle, is to make sure that you have you have purchased car insurance for the state of Louisiana. You will need proof of insurance when you visit the Office of Motor Vehicles, so keep all of the necessary documents on hand.
Proof of Ownership
You need to proof to the Office of Motor Vehicles that you own the vehicle that you would like to register. The two documents that will prove your ownership are the vehicle’s title and current registration from your previous state.
Your vehicle will need to pass a safety inspection to be registered in Louisiana; it is a requirement of the Louisiana State Police. Some areas also require that your vehicle pass emission testing as well. The fee for a safety inspection is $18 and you need to have you car inspected at a designated state inspection station.
Register Out of State Vehicle
There are two different ways that you can register your vehicle with the Office of Motor Vehicles; by mail or in-person at your local office. There are slightly different requirements between used and new vehicles, so it may be best to visit your local office, with the proper documents,if you do not understand what exactly will be required of you.
- Driver’s License
As for the inspection, when you go to the Office of Motor Vehicles, you will need to present a valid driver’s license or some sort of photo identification. If you will be mailing your application and documents, then a copy of your driver’s license is sufficient enough.
The first form that you will need to fill out is the Vehicle Application form (Form DPSMV 1799). This form will begin the process of registering your vehicle, and will provide the Office of Motor Vehicles with most of the information that they need to register your vehicle to you.
You will need to pay a sales tax, which varies between 4% and 9.5%, on your vehicle unless you have proof of payment from your last state, and would like to use that proof to claim credit. There are also local taxes that may be required by your area.
You will also pay a $68.50 title fee, a variable handling fee, and a variable license plate fee. Other fees, such as a lien fee, may apply depending on your exact situation.
If you visit the Office of Motor Vehicles, you can pay with cash, E-check, money order, credit card, or debit card. Beware that additional processing fees do apply if you wish to pay with either a credit card or a debit card.
If you submit you application by mail, then you can pay using either a check or a money order.
Like many other states, once you have moved to Lousiana, you will have 30 days to register your vehicle with the Office of Motor Vehicles. The registration process is simple once you have the necessary documents. If you have any questions are unclear on how to register your vehicle, submit your application, or pay any fees, it will be best for you to visit your local Office of Motor Vehicles rather than mail in your documents. Using all of these tips will ensure that you are able to register your vehicle quickly.