Whether you’re buying a used car from a person who is not a dealer or receiving an old car as a gift from your father, changing vehicle registration names will become part of the process. In Louisiana, like many other states, there is a process to change the names of the car title, or, who the car belongs to. There can be several situations for car title changes. Finding the right way to change the vehicle registration name is the key. Whether you are new to Louisiana, receive a car as a gift, buy a car from a dealer, or simply from a person.
When you are new to the state of Louisiana, you must show proof of title when registering your vehicle. For this, you must complete a Vehicle Application (or Form DPSMV 1799). You must then include the car title certificate from your previous state, proof of car insurance and the payment of the title transfer fee. You can submit this using two different options. The first, you can visit your closest OMV office location (Office of Motor Vehicles), or by mail to a specific dressed location shown on your application. If this is your situation and you are also changing the vehicle registration name from yours to your parents for insurance reasons, you may be able to receive a tax credit if you submit a notarized affidavit, or if the affidavit is signed by the person who’s name the title is under.
When you purchase a vehicle in Louisiana, the dealer might give you the paperwork for the vehicle title application. You must then go through a vehicle registration requirement and complete a Vehicle Application (or Form DPSMV 1799). You must also include the Manufacturer’s statement of origin, assigned to you by the dealer. Make sure it’s notarized. You must also include an itemized invoice, odometer disclosure, photocopy of your driver’s license, copy of financing statement or a security agreement, and a title fee and applicable sales tax.
When you purchase a vehicle from a person or private seller you must also go through vehicle registration requirements. It becomes your responsibility to complete an auto title transfer, you have 40 days to file for your title. You can then bring the following to the OMV: a complete Vehicle Application (or Form DPSMV 1799), the current title certificate, assigned to you from the original or previous owner and notarized, a notarized bill of sale, an odometer disclosure statement, copy of your driver’s license or ID, proof of car insurance, Louisiana car insurance, and the payment for any applicable title transfer fees. Remember, the current title certificate assigned to you must include the date of sale or purchase, the selling price, and both your (the buyer) and private seller’s (seller) signature.
If you receive a car as a gift or if it is donated to you, you must submit a form called Act of Donation of a Moveable. This must be completed and signed by the donor and recipient. When you chose to sell your car, remember that it is the buyer’s responsibility to complete the DMV title transfer. Although, you are responsible to assign the title to the buyer, which includes the date of sale, selling process and your notarized signature.
You must always keep in mind the Vehicle Title Transfer Fees as well. All titling transactions: $68.50. lien release fee: $76.50. Handling fee: it varies depending on the OMV branch location, in-person credit/debit fee: an additional $1.25 plus 1% of the transaction total, e-check fee: additional $1, and sales tax: based on where you live and the selling process of the vehicle.
Changing vehicle registration names all have a process. Finding the right process is key to having a successful name transfer. People purchase vehicles every single day. Many don’t know the process to the car title until they need it and are stuck looking for the right process. Following the process mentioned above can alleviate car stress when it comes to changing the vehicle registration name.